Go to content

OPTIMA REVIEWS

Optima reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Comfort
9.4
Build quality
9.2
Performance
9.1
Fun to drive
8.8
Practicality
9.2
Fuel economy
8.8
Features and specifications
9.4
Value for money
9.4
Overall rating
9.3
Scores 9.3 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
Show more score details
9 out of 10

David

Manchester GB Recreational
+
Just a good all round car. Great for cruising along motorways and country lanes. Great value for money car.
Nothing.
Confirmed purchase: 03 March 2016
Published on: 13 May 2017
10 out of 10

Mr David

haddington GB Recreational
+
its all good cant fault anything
handbook it took 3 days just to read the basics
Confirmed purchase: 20 January 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
9 out of 10

Mr Nigel

Lisbellaw GB Commuter
+
I had the previous model to but this one is a far better driving and more comfortable car.
Cant get the Optima 2 in white but the black is great looking to.
Confirmed purchase: 10 February 2017
Published on: 10 April 2017
10 out of 10

Christopher

Medway Chatham GB Commuter
+
The value for money of this car goes beyond the 10 rating. It so happens that my son purchased a new Jaguar XE a few months before my OPTIMA. He's gone for a Sport Spec and it's a lovely car but doesn't have an electric opening roof, all round cameras, swiveling headlamps, temperature control of rear seats ( which don't fold down for more luggage space ) to name a few features. There's much more leg room in the back of the OPTIMA and both my wife and I agree that the ride and road noise suppression is superior on the KIA. The Jaguar is petrol and has better acceleration but probably does at least 10 - 15mpg less all round than the diesel Optima. His car was over £10k more on the road than the KIA. Overall the OPTIMA is the most underrated car in its class on the road today. I've owned a lot of cars, done quite a lot of motor racing in UK, Europe and Australia and believe this is the best value all round package so far.
I would love a choice of bigger engines. The Americans do why not UK?

The automatic windscreen wiper system needs to be more sensitive for UK conditions.

Not fashionable at the moment but please could we have a rear screen wiper.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 18 June 2016
Published on: 17 January 2017
9 out of 10

Carolyn

Guildford GB Motorway driver
+
Comfortable, feel safe with the gadgets and features
Would like a rear windscreen wiper and self-clean cameras
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 14 June 2016
Published on: 16 January 2017
10 out of 10

Steven

Mansfield Woodhouse GB Commuter
+
The controls are very simple and the screen is the best interactive screen I've had, much better then the Peugeot 2008 I had and ford focus.
I'm struggling a little with the lumbar support and getting comfortable but this is more to do with me and my back then the car.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 30 September 2016
Published on: 11 November 2016
9 out of 10

Kevin

GB Commuter
+
The automatic seat adjustment between the two main drivers
Reviewer left no comment
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 07 May 2016
Published on: 20 June 2016
10 out of 10

David

Inverness GB Recreational
+
The whole package works for me
Every time we go out my wife wants to drive it.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 05 March 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
9 out of 10

Robert

Leicester GB Commuter
+
The car in general is very good.
No 360 degree camera I feel this is needed as car is large and hard to park. Also the boot is a nice size but access is limited to the small opening. No rear wiper.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 01 March 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
10 out of 10

Emer

Luton GB
+
We just love the car,very easy on the fuel,very comfortable ah we just love it
Reviewer left no comment
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 01 March 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016

OPTIMA MEDIA REVIEWS

  • 2016 Kia Optima Review - Inside Lane

    The 2016 Kia Optima takes on the likes of Ford Mondeo and Skoda Superb, but good cars. Can the new premium design of the Optima and its good value for money take on the best in class? Power is sourced from a 1.7 litre diesel engine producing 139bhp and over 340Nm of torque. A 7 speed dual clutch automatic transmission provides smooth and fast changes. 64 mpg combined is claimed.
  • BBC TopGear Magazine

    The Top Gear car review: Kia Optima

    The quality impression created by the outside is present within the Optima too. The dashboard is smart-looking and details such as a shiny wood insert at the top of the steering wheel help raise the ambience, taking attention away from the few cheap and shiny plastics that do remain.
  • Kia Optima headlights

    2016 Kia Optima 1.7 CRDi Eco review

    It’s certainly classier inside. The new dashboard architecture is very pleasant indeed, providing a more premium feel with added satin trim and piano black inserts.